top of page

Disaster Assistance for 2022 Livestock Forage Losses in 37 Montana counties

37 MT Counties Triggered; U.S. Drought Monitor Updated Weekly Livestock producers in 37 Montana counties are eligible to apply for 2022 Livestock Forage Disaster Program (LFP) benefits on small grain, native pasture, improved pasture, annual ryegrass, and forage sorghum. LFP provides compensation if you suffer grazing losses for covered livestock due to drought on privately owned or leased land or fire on federally managed land. The following 37 Montana counties have triggered the 2022 LFP drought criteria: Beaverhead, Big Horn, Blaine, Broadwater, Carbon, Cascade, Chouteau, Daniels, Fergus, Gallatin, Garfield, Glacier, Golden Valley, Hill, Jefferson, Judith Basin, Lewis and Clark, Liberty, McCone, Madison, Meagher, Musselshell, Park, Petroleum, Phillips, Pondera, Powder River, Richland, Roosevelt, Rosebud, Sheridan, Stillwater, Sweet Grass, Teton, Toole, Valley and Wheatland. Producers must complete a CCC-853 and provide required supporting documentation no later than January 30, 2023, for 2022 losses. Producers in these counties are also eligible to apply for benefits under the 2022 Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees, and Farm-Raised Fish Program (ELAP) for losses relating to feed transportation, livestock transportation and water transportation costs. The deadline to file a Notice of Loss for livestock losses under ELAP is 30 days after the date that the loss is apparent. Applications for payment must be completed no later than January 30, 2023, for 2022 losses. For additional information about LFP, including eligible livestock and fire criteria, contact the local USDA Service Center and visit or

92 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page